Minimalism: my capsule wardrobe

Clothing is so hard to get rid of; unless something is broken or stained or spoiled, there’s no knowing when you’ll need it – and history has taught me that you never know when something will come back into fashion!

But, doing research and looking into minimalism, I see The Minimalists saying that you have to stop worrying about “Just in Case”, so I’m going to try not to use that excuse anymore. Also, because I really struggle to get rid of clothing (even things I haven’t worn in years!) I am going to create a capsule wardrobe for this season. So I’m not throwing anything away right now, but I am hoping to become more aware of what I wear and what I don’t wear, to see if I can edit down my massive clothing collection.

I used this capsule wardrobe planner, from the amazing blog Un-Fancy to start thinking about what things I wear most often, and what suits me, and then what’s missing. (Just want to point out now that I did not include my work clothes – the clothes I regularly wear for work probably amount to about 8 or 9 pieces of clothing, they are not very exciting but I feel like if anything, a work capsule wardrobe would involve buying more clothes!)

My capsule comprises:

  • 2 pairs jeans
  • 4 vests
  • 8 T-shirts / blouses
  • 4 jumpers
  • 5 dresses
  • 2 leggings
  • 3 pairs shoes/boots
  • 1 jumpsuit

I put this together and realised I have way less than the suggested 37 items – just 29 items, and I have included more dresses than I really wear on a regular basis. But I have not included workout clothes, pyjamas, or office clothes, so maybe I should include one of those next time.

Have you tried putting together a capsule wardrobe? Did it work for you?

 

4 Replies to “Minimalism: my capsule wardrobe”

  1. I sort of stumbled into my capsule wardrobe. (Does that mean it’s still a capsule?) I didn’t really go through any kind of planning; I just downsized my wardrobe to the things that I actually like, need, and feel good in. At that point, I didn’t really need to fill in any holes, and I actually have some pieces that I never really wear and should honestly get rid of.

    Like

Leave a Reply

