Vegetarian dinner party: trio of salads

We invited some friends over for dinner on Friday night, and for the first time ever I think, I had more vegetarians to cook for than meat eaters! We prepared a mezze style dinner with lots of different dishes to try; my partner cooked a lamb dish for the meat eaters, and among lots of bread, houmous and fruits, I made a trio of salads:

Watermelon and feta saladblogpic10

This one was probably the easiest to make, and it was really delicious! I wasn’t convinced by the flavour combination at first, and I was worried the raw onion would be too overpowering, but actually it goes really well with the sweet watermelon and creamy feta.

  • 300 – 400gs watermelon, in 2cm cubes
  • 100gs feta (or less if you would prefer a lighter salad) crumbled
  • 4/5 sprigs mint, finely chopped
  • 1/2 a small onoin, finely sliced or chopped

 

Caprese salad with olivesblogpic11Classic caprese, I’m not sure that it would usually be served with olives? I just don’t think you can beat this flavour combination! It reminds me of pizza 🙂

  • 300g tomatoes, mixed sized and varieties
  • 100g mozarella, sliced then torn
  • 10 fresh basil leaved, torn or loosely chopped
  • a little salt and pepper
  • 5 sliced olives

 

Chickpea salad (vegan)

This is essentially just a garden salad with chickpeas – with most salads that are intended to be a main course, there should be at least one protein providing ingredient, so cheese, egg, nuts, peas, lentils or beans. The quantities for this easily vary according to how many people you are catering for, but I used:

  • Rocket and chard
  • Celery
  • Cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • Sweetcorn
  • Chickpeas
  • Carrot, grated
3 thoughts on “Vegetarian dinner party: trio of salads

Add yours

  1. The watermelon feta salad looks really interesting to me but I’m having a hard time imagining what it tastes like since it looks like a tomato, red onion and dill salad I make. I’m excited to give it a try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

